page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-16083,bridge-core-2.1.2,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-19.9,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1,vc_responsive


The IMPACT study was designed by a team of experts in health, research and policy in collaboration with the Australian government.

IMPACT is led by the Royal Women’s Hospital in Melbourne, in collaboration with The Kirby Institute at UNSW, Melbourne Sexual Health Centre, Victorian Cytology Service, Cancer Council New South Wales, Menzies School of Population Health, Family Planning New South Wales, The University of Sydney, and The University of Melbourne. The program brings together internationally recognised epidemiologists, surveillance experts, sexual health physicians and policy experts from across Australia.

The Program is also part of the National Health and Medical Research Council Centre for Research Excellence in Cervical Cancer Control (C4 CRE), forming a core component of the HPV Vaccination and Methods streams. The CRE is led by Prof Karen Canfell at the Cancer Council New South Wales.


The Royal Women’s Hospital & Murdoch Children’s Research Institute

– Dr Dorothy Machalek
– Ms Hannah Shilling
– Prof Suzanne Garland

The Kirby Institute at the University of New South Wales
– Prof John Kaldor
– Prof Rebecca Guy
– Prof Basil Donovan

The University of Melbourne
Melbourne School of Population and Global Health

– Prof Jane Hocking

VCS Foundation
– Prof Julia Brotherton
– Prof Marion Saville

Cancer Council New South Wales (C4 CRE)
– Prof Karen Canfell
– Dr Megan Smith

Melbourne Sexual Health Centre (Alfred Health)
– A/Prof Marcus Chen
– Prof Christopher Fairley
– A/Prof Eric Chow

Family Planning New South Wales
– Prof Deborah Bateson

The University of Sydney, Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
– Prof Rachel Skinner

Menzies School of Health Research
– Dr Lisa Whop
– Dr Abbey-Rose Diaz